MY CLOSET: DUNN TRADITION

IMG_0091
My mother was born and raised in Dunn, NC and went to Dunn High School. Dunn High School no longer exists, but a tradition lives on.

In Dunn there is an old jewelry store that sold silver bracelets with forget me not flowers on them. Young women who graduated from Dunn High School would be given one of the bracelets for graduation. Some received new bracelets and some received bracelets handed down from their relatives.

I did not go to school in Dunn, but my mother gave me one of the bracelets and I was also given my grandmother’s bracelet. We both have small wrists so we have the child’s version that has room for a monogram. The larger bracelets have the forget me not flowers all the way across.

I wear this bracelet every day!

Leave a Reply

