MOVIE: THE MARTIAN

Woah. This movie was intense.
I usually try to avoid seeing movies about space (with the exception of Star Wars) in theaters because the concept of something going wrong out there terrifies me, and lets be honest, something always goes wrong in space movies.

There were multiple times that I had to look away. Right off the bat when the team leaves him believes him dead, he awakens injured and treats himself for those injuries. Yuck! I looked away the whole time he was cleaning himself up. He also rationed his food to the point that he was skin and bones and I had to look away then too.

There were funny bits all throughout the movie to help cut the tension, but that didn’t stop me from nearly pulling my hair out due to suspense. I was so nervous throughout the movie that I chewed up a straw into pieces. I had a difficult time winding down after the movie too and it was the first thing I thought about when I woke up the next morning. It’s the kind of movie that sticks with you and I am definitely going to watch it again when it comes out on DVD.

They used more sound in this movie which made it less unnerving than Gravity. That movie straight up freaked me out and I only watched it on an iPad mini! I think I would have had to leave during that movie if I had gone to see it at the Theater. I was able to make it through The Martian and I’m so glad I did. It was excellent and the cast was awesome.

Leave a Reply

