ANOTHER JEWELRY REVAMP

The women in my family love jewelry and my grandmothers have been quite the collectors. My father’s mother has traveled the world and collected pieces everywhere she went. Each piece of jewelry she has, has a story that goes along with it. My mother’s mother has always a knack for befriending jewelers and they have certainly been friendships with benefits. (Note: Grandmother has not intentionally sought out jewelers as friends. She just happened to live in very small towns and everyone tends know each other very well) As a result of being the only granddaughters on both sides of the family, my sister and I have been the recipients of many beautiful and unique jewelry pieces.

Naturally, not every piece is exactly to our taste. By combining some of the older pieces with some new elements, beautiful stones can take on a new life. For example, I have an old pearl enhancer that I will never wear in a million years. It has a beautiful medium blue stone that I would love to wear more often. I’m not quite sure if it is an aquamarine or a sapphire, but it is stunning. I also have a pair of very pale aquamarine stud earrings from way back when I just had my ears pierced. The stones sizes compliment each other very well.

I first went online to find some inspiration and found plenty.

By just playing around in Apple Preview and cutting and pasting elements from photos I found online, I built a few designs to help visualize turning my pearl enhancer and old earrings into a ring. I made around 8 different arrangements, but these three are my favorites.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 12.16.04 AM
Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 12.56.15 AM
Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 12.18.24 AM

I was originally considering a horizontal arrangement, but after playing around with the stones on my hand, I like the vertical arrangement better.

FullSizeRender 6 FullSizeRender 2

What I need to decide now is which vertical version to have made. I was able to take a photo of my hand and overlay the design, but I’m still not sure which one to pick.

 

No matter what I choose, I just hope my design for this ring works out as well as the one I did for my mother’s wedding ring.

2 thoughts on “ANOTHER JEWELRY REVAMP

Leave a Reply

