DIY: DOGGIE BANDANAS

I was feeling crafty last weekend and decided to make some new bandanas for my puppy. I picked up some happy fabric from Hobby Lobby and started the project.

IMG_3157

Step 1: Measure your dog’s neck and add a few inches to that measurement. Cut the fabric in a square to that measurement. (I used 15″ square for this demo)
Step 2: Cut iron on backing to the same size and be sure to put the correct side against the fabric.
Step 3: Iron the backing to the fabric.
Step 4: Cut off any extra backing from around the edges. I also usually iron again after cutting the scraps.

IMG_3158

Step 5: Fold in half into a triangle and iron. This makes a line that is easy to follow for the next step.
Step 6: Cut along the line to make two triangles.
Step 7: Fold again down the middle and iron.

IMG_3159

Step 8: Measure along the center where you have folded and ironed and make a mark a little less than 1/2 the way down from the flat end that will be against the dog’s neck. Be sure not to measure from the tip of the bandana. (I did this by accident on one of my own.) Mark from where you measured to the side point of the bandana.
Step 9: Cut along the line you have marked and open to reveal your finished product.

Admittedly I did choose the worst color for this demo and the lighting was terrible because I was doing this at night. Oh well! I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

