SECOND HAND SCORES

When I lived in Ireland as a child, my mother had to explain to me that not everyone appreciated second hand items. She said the Irish were a proud people and even those who may not have much at all might not wish to receive second hand clothes, books, etc. That was so foreign to me. As one of three (American) children we passed everything up and down and when we outgrew things we shared them with family friends. I never turned up my nose at second hand clothes and feel that i am fortunate to be able to share clothes and shoes with my mother, sister, grandmothers, great aunts and distant cousins and the sharing goes in all directions. Just because we no longer enjoy something doesn’t mean that someone else may not find joy in it.

I even enjoy buying second hand on eBay and Poshmark.
You never know what treasures you will find!

This week I have been flat on my back recuperating from an ankle injury and I have had plenty of free time to play around online and it has gotten me into a bit of trouble. I have been pouring over listings on eBay and Poshmark and have gotten some closet refreshing items for a bargain.

m_58befdaed14d7b964412bdbe

It all began with these Stubbs & Wootton espadrille wedges. I found them on Poshmark and purchased them for a song! They look like they have never been worn and I will enjoy them for ages. Of course, I have to let my ankle heal first.

Next purchase was this beautiful blazer from J.Crew.

m_58e557a34127d02a28008510.jpg

This Regent blazer is so flattering and I now own 3 of them! I purchased a gold one on Poshmark a while back and have worn it endlessly. I just purchased a brand new white linen blazer during a sale and now have this black one to balance them out.

m_57d078042de512c5c0029042

My third purchase was these Franco Sarto slingbacks. I picked up a pair of these about 4-5 years ago at TJ Maxx and wore them until they completely fell apart. I had them repaired by a shoe shop once and then let them go when they fell apart the second time. I have missed these shoes terribly and was over the moon when I found a never been worn pair on eBay. They are simple and cheap and I LOVE THEM. I think these were a spoof on a pair of Kate Spade cork slingbacks that came out around the same time. Real deal or not, it’s a good look.

If you haven’t tried Poshmark before, check out my page. I buy as well as sell.

Leave a Reply

