BLOWING ROCK

A couple of weekends ago, I took a short trip to the little mountain town of Blowing Rock, NC. The town hasn’t changed much as a whole, but the shops have improved significantly and I really enjoyed sticking my head in every one of them. The air is cool there, which makes the flowers last so much longer and beautifully arranged planters and flower beds are everywhere.

I fell in love with a tiny store called Take Heart that happens to be in one of the oldest buildings in the town. They sell flowy tunics, night gowns and little rememberances. I purchased a super cute top ($29.50/could only find the yellow version online), white bon bon ($17.50/not pictured) earrings and a Lulie Wallace lunch pale ($17.50).

4982250f828b30d492161a407f2c7374--the-lunchbox-sweets-recipe

Down the way, I popped in Finley House Couture and fell in love with these Susan Shaw earrings. Because I work at a resort built around Equestrian Sport, I had to have them.

1990pg_grande

I also stopped in a quirky store called Mrs. Brumbles. It was full to the brim with victorian lamps, jeweled figurines and positively littered with funky jewelry. What really caught my eye were the small selection of shawls. They looked just like the cashmere poncho/shawls you would find in a really fine boutique, but they were acrylic and only $30! Of course I bought two… one pale green and one red. I don’t have photographs of them so I will have to post about them when I wear them next.

Blowing Rock is a super cute place with fun restaurants and the scent of fresh fudge billowing rom their centrally located Kilwins can be smelled all over town. It’s a great place to cool off in the summer and a very pleasant place to take a stroll. I’m going to be spending more time there in the summers now that I know how easy it is to get to!

Leave a Reply

